Northlight Theatre is pleased to join Berkeley Rep and theatres across the nation to present this free nationwide radio play adaptation of Sinclair Lewis’ novel It Can’t Happen Here, now available to Nov 8.

It Can’t Happen Here
by Tony Taccone and Bennett S. Cohen
Adapted from the Novel by Sinclair Lewis
Sound Design and Music by Paul James Prendergast
Directed by Lisa Peterson

Written in 1935 during the rise of fascism in Europe, Lewis’ darkly satirical It Can’t Happen Here follows the ascent of a demagogue who becomes president of the United States by promising to return the country to greatness. In 2016 Berkeley Rep unveiled a new stage adaptation of Lewis’ prescient novel. One week after that production ended, the presidential election roiled our nation. Now, Berkeley Rep reprises that production with the same director and much of the original cast, but this time as a radio play in four episodes, just in time for the 2020 presidential election.

Read the Program

 

Introduction

Episode 1

Episode 2

Episode 3

Episode 4

Watch the Talkback with the Artists held live after the performance launch on 10/13:

REACT AND CONNECT

Interact with theatre fans across America as Roundabout Theatre Company hosts two National Community Conversations on Sunday, October 25 to discuss the play and your response.

Roundabout’s Community Conversations aim to foster reflection, conversation, and connection, striving to deepen an experience with the play and each other.

Community Conversations are free and open to anyone who experienced the radio play performance of It Can’t Happen Here. Pre-registration is encouraged to ensure a spot, since space is limited.

Click on a time to pre-register:
October 25 at 2pm ET/1pm CT/11am PT
October 25 at 5pm ET/4pm CT/2pm PT


MAKE YOUR VOTE COUNT

In addition to providing a source of entertainment, the added intent of the radio play adaption of Sinclair Lewis’ novel It Can’t Happen Here is to encourage dialogue and motivate citizens to exercise their civic duty and vote. As involved members of our community, our hope is that this play will serve as a reminder of the power of voting in this important election year.

 

The 2020 General Election is Tuesday, November 3. Ensure Your Vote is Counted!

Register to Vote:

Check the accuracy of your current voter registration or register to vote for the first time online any time on/or before Sunday, October 18 or by mail any time on/or before Tuesday, October 6.

If registering by mail, your registration must be POSTMARKED to your Election Authority on/before Tuesday, October 6. After this, you can only register to vote in person through Election Day on Tuesday, November 3 under Grace Period Registration.

Your Voting Plan:

Vote By-Mail: Illinois allows the option for all registered voters to request a vote by-mail ballot (no excuse needed). However, you must request a vote by-mail ballot on/before Thursday, October 29; otherwise, you have to physically vote in-person. Illinois will not automatically send vote by-mail ballots, if not requested. (Note: You must first be registered to vote before you can request a vote by-mail ballot.) Your request must be RECEIVED by your Election Authority on/before Thursday, October 29.

Cast your vote by mailing-in your completed and SIGNED vote by-mail ballot which must be POSTMARKED to your Election Authority on/before Election Day, Tuesday, November 3. OR you may drop off your ballot at a secured drop box at any of Chicago’s 50+ Early Voting locations between October 14 and November 3.

In-Person Early Voting: Cast your vote early in-person. Early voting is open from Thursday, September 24 until Monday, November 2. Early voting locations and their hours vary by county, but you can find more information about your early voting location here.

In-Person On Election Day: Cast your vote in-person on Election Day, Tuesday, November 3 by 7:00 pm at your correct voting location.